EBSQ Examinations
Brest Surgery Curriculum

Trauma Surgery
EBSQ Examination

Next EBSQ Examination

DatePlaceApplication deadline
6th May 2023Ljubljina1st March 2023

We accept applications only through the UEMS dedicated web-platform. Applications by any other means are not accepted.

Please note that you have to submit all the required documents and paid the Eligibility fee before the deadline date. The further payment of the Examination fee may be possible after the deadline date within 2 weeks from the notification of your eligibility (sent by email).

Please note that once the deadline date to apply is passed, the link won’t be accessible anymore. No application will then be possible and acceptable by any means.

You wish to apply to the EBSQ Examination in Trauma Surgery for the first time or you were assessed as not eligible in a previous attempt to participate to the exam. You are a new candidate. Please click below:

Examination organisation & rules

To apply for certification as a Fellow of the European Board of Surgery in Trauma Surgery (FEBS Trauma Surgery), a candidate has to undergo a two-step quality validation process: Eligibility and Examination.

Eligibility is a prerequisite for Examination and is also part of the whole examination which confers to the successful candidates the title of Fellow of the European Board of Surgery – F.E.B.S. Trauma Surgery.

Reapplication is possible for the eligibility process and/or the examination.

The reference books for the examination are 3 volumes of the series “European Manual of Medicine” of Springer. They have the titles:

Trauma Surgery I             ISBN 978-3-540-88121-6  e-ISBN 978-3-540-88122-3

Trauma Surgery II             ISBN 978-3-540-88123-0 e-ISBN 978-3-540-88124-7

Trauma Surgery III.           ISBN 978-3-642-38387-8  e-ISBN 978-3-642-38388-5

The editors are Hans-Jörg Oestern, Otmar Trentz and Selman Uranues.
Further reading is recommended

Eligibility requirements

The EBSQ Examination in Trauma surgery is open to candidates trained in one of the 27 European Union countries, a UEMS country, an associated UEMS country or a country with UEMS observer status.
The exam is also open to candidates trained outside the UEMS area provided that the Eligibility committee considers that the training and qualifications are equivalent.

For details and explanations on the eligibility criteria, please download the following document:

For details on the Logbook requirements, please download the following document:

Documents required

Candidates must attach the following documents to their online registration on the UEMS Surgery platform:

  • Application form filled and signed (download the Application form to fill in and sign below)
  • Curriculum vitae (which should include the training curriculum as per the document that you can download below)
  • Recommendation letter of 2 recognized trauma surgeons, who are not the trainers of the candidate
  • Certificate of completion of specialist training
  • Completed logbook as per the template which you can download below.
  • Certificate of completion of ATLS® course or approved alternative (for the alternative, please read the Logbook requirements document that you can download below)
  • Certificate of completion of DSTC® course or approved alternative (for the alternative, please read the Logbook requirements document that you can download below)
  • Copy of your passport or national identity card with your photo
  • Commitment to abide by the rules duly signed by you (this document can be downloaded below)

Examination fees

The fees for the EBSQ certificate in Trauma Surgery are divided as follows:
– Eligibility fee of 300 euros, non-refundable, and
– Examination fee of 900 euros

The resit fee in case of failure is also of 900 euros.

The Eligibility fee is to be paid when the candidate registers for the examination.

The Examination fee should be paid once the eligibility of the candidate has been confirmed, to finalise the registration of the candidate for the examination.

Cancellation/Postponement up to 30 days before the exam- Exam fees (if paid) postponed to next sitting + an admin charge of 90 euro.

Cancellation/Postponement less than 30 days before the exam – Exam fees not transferred to the next exam. If candidate was deemed eligible then they will pay the full exam fee + 90 euro admin fee. They will not have to pay the eligibility fee again if they have been assessed eligible.

Reasonable cancellations within 30 days of the exam will be considered on a case by case basis. Supporting documentation may be required.

For those who have been assessed eligible, you may postpone for up to 24 months. After 24 months you must go through the eligibility assessment again.

All fees paid are non-refundable. The exam fee may be transferred to another exam sitting if more than 30 days notice is given.

Examination format

The EBSQ Examination on Trauma Surgery organised by the UEMS Division of Trauma Surgery consists of 3 parts:

  • a written exam in the form of Multiple-Choice Questions (MCQ) (30 minutes)
  • oral “viva voce” examination. Candidates will be asked to analyse history and actual problems of real patients. Candidates will also be given laboratory investigations, x-rays and scans to interpret. There will be a structured debate between examiners and candidate on how to solve the problems of the patients (30 minutes)
  • analysis and interpretation of a recent publication (without abstract) in an international, peer-reviewed journal (30 minutes).


Candidates who are successful in the Examination will be awarded the title “Fellow of the European Board of Surgery in Trauma Surgery – F.E.B.S. Trauma Surgery”.

A UEMS fellowship (F.E.B.S.) represents a high-level validated quality-controlled process and reflects certain knowledge and skills of a candidate. The title Fellow of the European Board of Surgery in Trauma Surgery (F.E.B.S. Trauma Surgery) confirms that the holder has successfully demonstrated knowledge and skills in Trauma Surgery. The F.E.B.S. in Trauma Surgery qualification has no automatic legal recognition in the E.U. or in any other country. Individual recognition of qualifications by national authorities is supported by the EBSQ committee and is being adopted by an increasing number of countries. The fellowship of itself does not imply an automatic right to independent practice nor does it automatically enhance participation in national social security systems of the E.U. The future perspective of this European diploma is to be seen in unanimous legalization within the ongoing project of the European harmonization process of medical education.