Training Centre Accreditation

Transplant Surgery Training Centre Accreditation

Why choose UEMS Accreditation?

UEMS training centre accreditation is well regarded within the European Union. It proves that the training at these centres meets a high standard and it provides access to a wide network of European Transplant specialists. This is not only beneficial for the institution itself but also for trainees as it proves they have quality training and they also become eligible for UEMS- ESOT fellowship as outline below.

We have updated our criteria for accreditation

The Transplant Surgery Division accredits training centres in the following modules: Multi Organ Retrieval; Kidney Transplant; Pancreas Transplant; Liver Transplant.

The visiting team meets with the professionals and the participants involved in the training. They proceed to a rigorous analysis of the accreditation application beforehand and provide a detailed report on the findings of the visit afterwards.

For more details on the process and the application to submit, please download the following document:

Here is the list of training centres accredited by the UEMS Transplant Surgery division:

  • Birmingham (Queen Elizabeth Hospital Birmingham) – 2018
  • Budapest (Semmelweis University) – 2011
  • Cardiff (The University Hospital of Wales) – 2018
  • Essen (University Hospital) – 2011
  • Gotheborg (Shalgrenska Un. Hospital)- 2016
  • Groningen (University Hospital) – 2011
  • Innsbruck (VTT University Hospital Innsbruck) – 2019
  • Leiden (Leiden Transplant Centre) – 2019
  • Leuven (Leuven University Hospitals)
  • Oslo (University Hospital) – 2018
  • Rome (Catholic University – Renal Transplant) – 2019
  • Rotterdam (Erasmus Un Hospital) – 2015- Re-accredited 2023
  • Torino (Liver Transplant Center) – 2018
  • Dublin (Beaumont) – 2022

UEMS – ESOT Collaboration 

The European Society of Organ Transplantation grants two Transplant Fellowships every year “in order to advance the clinical and academic knowledge and skills of senior European transplant trainees or junior transplant specialists by working in another European institution for a period of one year, attending a sound and well-structured clinical and academic program”.

As mentioned on the website of ESOT, should the hosting institution not be UEMS-ESOT accredited, “the Head of the hosting institution needs to produce a  report as to how the training program and overall clinical and academic work of the his/ her Department compare to the UEMS-ESOT training requirements for the specific discipline (transplantation surgery, medicine, coordination and immunology) for which the applicant is applying for.”

For more information on the fellowship, click here