EBSQ Examinations

Transplant Surgery EBSQ Examinations

Next EBSQ Examination

DatePlaceApplication deadline
September 2023AthensApplications not open

Applications for this session have not yet opened.

Please note that once the deadline date to apply is passed, the link won’t be accessible anymore. No application will then be possible and acceptable by any means.

Please note that you must submit all the required documents and pay the Eligibility fee before the deadline date. The further payment of the Examination fee may be possible after the deadline date within 2 weeks from the notification of your eligibility (sent by email).

Notifications regarding your application will be sent by automatic emails, check your spam box if you do not receive the confirmation of your application as a start, and following emails.

You want to get ready for the exam? The UEMS Division of Transplant Surgery organises a Preparatory Course. Check all details here.

Exam organisation & rules

To apply for certification as Fellow of the European Board of Surgery (FEBS) in the specialty of Transplant Surgery offered by the Division of Transplant Surgery and the European Board of Surgery, a candidate has to undergo a two-step quality validation process: Eligibility and Examination.

A candidate successfully passing the examination will be qualified as:
Fellow of the European Board of Surgery – F.E.B.S. Transplant Surgery.


Certification can be obtained for the following separate modules:

• Module 1: Multi-organ retrieval
• Module 2: Kidney transplantation
• Module 3: Pancreas transplantation
• Module 4:Liver transplantation

A candidate can be accredited for one or more modules.

To obtain accreditation for any of Modules 2, 3 or 4, it is mandatory to obtain accreditation in module 1 as well. Thus, any candidate who pass only one or more module(s) of modules 2, 3 or 4 in a session won’t be certified until they pass module 1.

As an exception, in case of exceptional experience in modules 2, 3, or 4, some requirements for accreditation for module 1 may be waived. The decision to waive these requirements will be taken by the Executive Committee.

The Division is not offering certification for heart and lung transplantation since this is being offered via the long-established and successful certification/ examination process of the UEMS Section of Thoracic Surgery.

Eligibility requirements

Applications to the EBSQ Examination in Transplant Surgery is composed of the following documents:

  • the Application form that you download below duly completed and signed
  • Medical degree
  • Certificate of Surgical Specialty Training
  • Certificate of Transplantation Surgery Training
  • Logbook as per the Eligibility and Logbook minimum requirements.
  • a CV
  • A consolidated documents for the Credit points with the evidences
  • Letter of support from one of the Directors of the Transplant program
  • Letter of support of a senior transplant trainer

Registration fees

The fees for the EBSQ diploma in transplant surgery are divided as follows:
– Eligibility fee of 400 euros, (non refundable if the candidate is not eligible), and
– Examination fee of 200 euro per Module.

The Eligibility fee is to be paid when the candidate register for the certification.

The Examination fee for the modules should be paid once the eligibility of the candidate has been confirmed, to finalise the registration of the candidate for the examination.

Cancellation/Postponement up to 30 days before the exam- Exam fees (if paid) postponed to next sitting + an admin charge of 90 euro.

Cancellation/Postponement less than 30 days before the exam – Exam fees not transferred to the next exam. If candidate was deemed eligible then they will pay the full exam fee + 90 euro admin fee. They will not have to pay the eligibility fee again if they have been assessed eligible.

Reasonable cancellations within 30 days of the exam will be considered on a case by case basis. Supporting documentation may be required.

For those who have been assessed eligible, you may postpone for up to 24 months. After 24 months you must go through the eligibility assessment again.

All fees paid are non-refundable. The exam fee may be transferred to another exam sitting if more than 30 days notice is given.

The examination team