EBSQ Examinations

Minimal invasive surgery EBSQ Examinations

Next EBSQ Examination

For all information on the upcoming examination and registration, please click here

Examination organisation & rules

The EBSQ MIS Examination (Board Exam) is subject of comprehensive revision and continuous development. The examination covers the whole field of Minimal Invasive Surgery as defined in the relevant UEMS documents. This is conducted in cooperation with the relevant European authorities and fulfilling EU legislation and directives.
The evolving process of the Board Examinations is paralleled by the European ambition towards harmonisation and standardisation of medical education, specialist training and qualification.

The structure of the Board Qualification is clearly defined and consists of a 2-stage process involving the Eligibility and the Examination, the Examination comprising a MCQ test with at least 100 items and an OSCE circuit with at least 6 stations.

For details on the organisation and the rules attached to the EBSQ examination in minimal invasive surgery, please read carefully the following document:


The “transferable competency” of Abdominal Wall Surgery (AWS) requires assessed and documented numbers for “Knowledge and Skills“. Candidates must demonstrate Skills in each of the described areas of responsibility and be able to present a complete and signed log-book.

The candidates’ individual log-books must fulfil the UEMS criteria.
In the logbook patient’s initials (or hospital ad admission number), type of procedure, date of procedure and approval with signature by independent expert have to be provided for each item.

The individual log-books are scrutinised in the Eligibility process.

Eligibility will only be assessed if all forms and documents mentioned in the check list here below have been submitted.

Details on the eligibity requirements are available in this document:

Marking & grant

A total of 600 points can be achieved in the EBSQ exam:
– 300 points in the MC test (2 or 1 points per question),
– 300 points in the OSCE circuit (50 points per station).

The threshold for passing the exam is 75%, which means at least a total of 450 points.

Appeals against the decision of the Board of Examiners are possible.

In addition, an unsuccessful candidate is entitled to another chance to take the exam that he/she failed.

The successful candidates (successful Eligibility and Examination) are awarded the title “Fellow of the European Board of Surgery – MIS” or “F.E.B.S./MIS” and are provided with the relevant Diploma normally the same day in a formal celebration.

The title F.E.B.S./MIS determines, that the person successfully proved to have validated knowledges and skills, that in most cases exceed the requirements for the national CCSTs and allow him/her to successfully cover the broad field of MIS in respective to the actual demandings according to the judging of the commission.

In the moment, the qualification F.E.B.S./MIS has no automatic legal recognition in the E.U. or in any other country. Individual recognition of qualifications by the national authorities is supported by the EBSQ committee.
Individual recognition of qualifications by the national authorities is supported by the EBSQ committee and the number of countries officially adopting the Board exam is continuously rising.